humanoid.observer
44 robots on sale today
Agility Robotics · United States

Digit (v1 to v3)

Digit added a torso, arms and perception to the Cassie legs and was first shown in February 2019. Ford bought the first two units in 2020 for last-mile delivery research, and v2 and v3 added better perception and hands-free manipulation of totes. These versions were superseded by the 2023 Digit.

Retired enterprise only Score 26/100, niche Generation 1 Follows Cassie Succeeded by Digit Checked 2026-09-04

The verdict

The most deployed humanoid in American warehouses, and one you cannot buy. Agility leases Digit at roughly $8,500 a month with the software and support attached, which is a fair reflection of what it takes to keep one working.

Buy it if
Logistics operations running tote handling at scale.
Skip it if
You want to own hardware.

In its favour

  • Real, paid, multi-site deployments
  • Lease includes support
  • Purpose-built for one job it does well

Against it

  • No public price and no sale
  • Narrow task set
  • Enterprise-only relationship

26/100
Niche
Provisional, specs incomplete
Capability 10/30
Value 0/25
Buyability 9/20
Ecosystem 3/15
Proof 4/10
Computed from the data · how the score works

How the score is built

Capability is what the machine physically does. Value compares it with others at a similar price, not with the whole market. Buyability asks whether you can really order one. Ecosystem is the software and community around it. Proof is what it has done in the field, which is where most humanoids score badly and should.

Read the full method

Instead of this

Similar money, different machine.

Compare these
Status
Retired
Category
logistics
First revealed
February 2019
Form
bipedal
Height
n/a
Weight
n/a
Payload
n/a
Degrees of freedom
n/a
Battery
n/a
Runtime
n/a
Walking speed
n/a
Actuation
electric
Units deployed (est.)
not disclosed
Teleoperation
partial

Where it stands

Early Digit versions (2019 to 2022) sold to Ford and research customers; superseded by the 2023 Digit with head and hands.

What stands out

  • First shown February 2019
  • Ford bought the first two units (2020)
  • Tote handling demos 2021 to 2022

Price and volume

early units reportedly sold for around USD 250,000; not confirmed by Agility

Deployments

Where Digit (v1 to v3) works.

CustomerSiteSectorTaskSinceStatusUnitsAutonomy
SchaefflerSchaeffler manufacturing plants (locations not disclosed), GermanyautomotiveIntralogistics and material handling in Schaeffler plantsOct 2024announcedn/dautonomous
AmazonAmazon robotics research and development facility near Seattle, Washington, United StateslogisticsTote recycling: picking up empty totes and moving them to conveyorsOct 2023unclearn/dautonomous
GXO Logistics (Spanx contract)Spanx distribution facility, Flowery Branch, Georgia, United StateslogisticsMoving totes from autonomous mobile robots onto conveyorsOct 2023activen/dautonomous
Ford Motor CompanyFord research, Michigan, United StateslogisticsResearch on last mile package delivery from autonomous vans to the doorstepJan 2020ended2mixed
Timeline

Milestones.

  1. GXO signs the first commercial humanoid Robots as a Service agreement with Agility

    After a pilot at a Spanx facility in Georgia, GXO Logistics signs a multi year agreement to deploy Digit as a service, moving totes from autonomous mobile robots to conveyors. It is described as the first formal commercial deployment of humanoids in logistics.

  2. Amazon starts testing Digit in a Washington warehouse

    Amazon announces at its Delivering the Future event that it is testing Digit for tote recycling at a facility south of Seattle, after investing in Agility through its Industrial Innovation Fund. It is the first humanoid pilot at Amazon.

  3. Ford becomes the first customer for Digit

    At CES 2020, Ford and Agility announce that Ford will take the first two production Digit units to research last mile delivery from self driving vans. It is the first sale of a commercial humanoid to a carmaker.

  4. Agility Robotics introduces Digit

    Digit adds a torso, arms and perception sensors to Cassie's legs to create a bipedal robot for logistics. It is the first humanoid marketed for commercial package handling.

In the blog

Digit (v1 to v3) is covered in these 10 articles

All articles
Explainer · 6 Sep 2026

Deposits, lead times and warranties: reading a humanoid order sheet

Of 42 buy records, 2 publish a deposit, 1 a warranty, 1 a shipping cost and none a lead time in weeks. The order sheet for a humanoid is mostly blank, and the blanks are where the money goes.

Explainer · 6 Sep 2026

Europe's humanoids: who builds them and what you can order

31 of the 182 humanoids on record come from seven European countries. Three can be ordered, two have a price, and the dearest of those is $75,000 for a robot that does not walk.

Opinion · 6 Sep 2026

Figure AI: what $39 billion has shown so far

Four rounds, $1,754,000,000 raised, one named customer, no price and no unit count. The record on the most valuable humanoid company, generation by generation.

Explainer · 6 Sep 2026

How long does a humanoid robot actually run

22 of 182 humanoids on record quote a runtime. The claims run from 1 to 8 hours with a median of 4, and of the 44 machines you can order, 4 say anything at all.

Explainer · 6 Sep 2026

Startups, automakers, universities: who builds humanoids

108 makers, nine kinds. Startups hold 37 of the 44 humanoids you can order. Automakers, universities, big tech, conglomerates and NASA hold 45 robots between them and sell none of them.

Explainer · 6 Sep 2026

Who is paying for humanoids: 69 funding rounds

Our funding record holds 69 entries. Take out the government funds, the acquisitions and the IPOs and $6.33 billion of disclosed private money remains. 37 percent of it went to companies with no robot on record.

Same maker

Other robots by Agility Robotics.

Sources

  1. 01
  2. 02
    Agility RoboticsAgility Robotics

Price sources

  1. 01
    Humanoid robots for sale: 2026 guideThere's A Robot For That · 2026-08-15
  2. 02

Spotted a wrong price or a broken fact? Send a correction. Fixed within 24 hours when sourced.