humanoid.observer
44 robots on sale today
News & Blog · Explainer · 9 min read

Who is paying for humanoids: 69 funding rounds

Our funding record holds 69 entries. Take out the government funds, the acquisitions and the IPOs and $6.33 billion of disclosed private money remains. 37 percent of it went to companies with no robot on record.

Geert Jan van VlastuinEditor, humanoid.observer
A human hand and a bionic hand reaching towards each other
A human hand and a bionic hand reaching towards each other

Add up every amount in our funding record and you get $166.2 billion. That number is useless. $153.2 billion of it is three Chinese government funds, most of it one national fund-of-funds pledged over twenty years. Take those out, along with the acquisitions and the IPOs, and the private money that went into humanoid makers and their model suppliers is $6.33 billion across 35 disclosed rounds. Ten rounds are 70 percent of that.

How $166 billion becomes $6.3 billion

The record has 69 entries. 42 carry an amount. Seven of the 42 distort the sum and we set them aside.

The largest is the National Development and Reform Commission’s venture guidance fund of 6 March 2025, expected to mobilise about CNY 1 trillion, roughly $138 billion, over twenty years, naming embodied AI among several priorities. It invests in funds, not in humanoids. Beijing’s CNY 100 billion fund (about $13.8 billion) covers robotics, AI and information industries together; Shenzhen’s CNY 10 billion (about $1.38 billion) is an AI and robotics fund plus subsidies; Shanghai’s entry has no size. Those four entries take $153.18 billion with them.

Seven entries are acquisitions, three with a price: SoftBank’s $5.375 billion for ABB’s robotics division in October 2025 (industrial arms, listed because the buyer also leads Skild AI), Hyundai’s $880 million for 80 percent of Boston Dynamics in 2020, and AgiBot’s $293 million for 63.6 percent of the listed Swancor in July 2025, money leaving a maker to buy a listing. That is $6.548 billion out. UBTech’s Hong Kong listing of 29 December 2023 raised about $130 million; listings have their own article, so it goes too.

What remains is 56 entries, 35 with an amount, totalling $6,329,300,000, Sanctuary AI’s $22 million Canadian grant included because it went straight to a company.

2025 was the year the money arrived

Of the 69 entries, 41 are dated 2025, 16 are 2024 and 6 are 2023. Before that: two in 2022, two in 2020, one in 2017, one in 2013, all Agility, Sanctuary or Boston Dynamics.

In the private set, 2025 has 32 entries, 18 of them with an amount, together $3.82 billion. 2024 has 16 entries, 9 disclosed, $2.11 billion. 2023 has five disclosed rounds worth $172.5 million and 2022 two worth $208.5 million. Roughly 94 percent of the disclosed private money landed in 2024 and 2025.

21 of the 56 private entries carry no amount, 14 of them from 2025. Five carry a valuation but no amount: 1X at a reported $10 billion, Skild AI at a reported $4 billion, AgiBot at $2.1 billion and earlier $980 million, Unitree at about $1.7 billion. A valuation without an amount is a press number. It says what somebody agreed to call the company, not what it received.

The disclosed 2025 money is concentrated. Figure’s $1 billion is 26 percent of the year. Add Physical Intelligence, Field AI, Agility and Apptronik and five rounds are 72 percent of it.

The ten largest rounds

# Company Date Round Amount Valuation Lead investors
1 Figure AI 16 September 2025 Series C $1,000M $39B post-money Parkway Venture Capital
2 Figure AI 29 February 2024 Series B $675M $2.6B post-money none named
3 Physical Intelligence November 2025 Series B $600M $5.6B post-money CapitalG
4 Field AI August 2025 Series A and B $405M $2B post-money Bezos Expeditions, Prysm Capital, Temasek
5 Agility Robotics April 2025 Series C $400M $1.75B pre-money, reported WP Global Partners
6 Physical Intelligence 4 November 2024 Series A $400M $2.4B post-money Jeff Bezos, Thrive Capital, Lux Capital
7 Apptronik 13 February 2025 Series A $350M not disclosed B Capital, Capital Factory
8 Skild AI 9 July 2024 Series A $300M $1.5B post-money Lightspeed, Coatue, SoftBank Group, Bezos Expeditions
9 Rainbow Robotics 31 December 2024 strategic $180M not disclosed Samsung Electronics
10 Galbot June 2025 Series A++ $153M not disclosed CATL, Puquan Capital

These ten sum to $4.46 billion, 70.5 percent of the private total. The median disclosed private round is $105 million.

Figure’s Series C is the one everybody quotes. Figure said the round was over $1 billion; Reuters put the post-money valuation at $39 billion, fifteen times the Series B a year and a half earlier. Across four rounds in our record Figure has raised $1.754 billion.

Apptronik’s $350 million Series A of 13 February 2025 was the largest humanoid round of early 2025, led by B Capital and Capital Factory with Google participating. A $53 million extension in June took it to $403 million, to scale Apollo production with Jabil.

Four of the ten rounds, $1.705 billion, went to companies that build models rather than bodies: Physical Intelligence twice, Field AI and Skild AI. Just below the table, The Bot Company has $300 million at a reported $4 billion valuation and no product shown.

Who shows up most often

The 56 entries with an investor list name 144 distinct investors once obvious variants are merged (Nvidia and NVentures, three labels for Jeff Bezos, three Meituan vehicles). 111 appear exactly once.

Investor Entries Led Where
Nvidia 6 1 Figure (2024, 2025), Physical Intelligence, Field AI, Skild AI, plus the Foxconn plant partnership
Jeff Bezos / Bezos Expeditions 5 3 Physical Intelligence (2024, 2025), Field AI, Skild AI, Figure
Khosla Ventures 5 1 Physical Intelligence (three rounds), Field AI, Genesis AI
SoftBank Group 5 4 Skild AI (2024, 2025), Boston Dynamics (bought 2017, sold 2020), ABB robotics
Beijing Robot Industry Fund 4 0 Unitree, Galbot (2024, 2025), RobotEra
Intel Capital 4 1 Figure (2023, 2024, 2025), Field AI
Lux Capital 4 2 Physical Intelligence (three rounds), Dyna Robotics
Meituan 4 2 Unitree (2024, 2025), Galbot (2024, 2025)
OpenAI / OpenAI Startup Fund 4 1 1X (2023), Figure (2024), Physical Intelligence (2024, twice)
Sequoia Capital 4 0 Physical Intelligence (three rounds), Skild AI

Nvidia is in four of the ten largest rounds. Bezos is in five. The American names in this table back, between them, Figure, 1X, Physical Intelligence, Field AI, Skild AI, Genesis AI and Dyna Robotics; five of those seven have no robot in our database and sell models to the makers that do.

The Chinese side clusters in Unitree, Galbot, LimX and EngineAI, and mostly does not disclose. Of the private money to companies with a country on record, $4.52 billion across 17 rounds is American and $598 million across six rounds is Chinese. Unitree’s Series C, led by China Mobile, Tencent, Alibaba and Geely, surfaced through registry changes with no amount. Part of why China builds and America demos is a reporting artefact.

Money raised against machines you can buy

The 69 entries name 42 recipients; four are governments, leaving 38 companies. Eleven of the 38 have no robot in our database: Physical Intelligence, Skild AI, Field AI, The Bot Company, Dyna Robotics, Genesis AI and five smaller names. Eight of the eleven have a disclosed amount, together $2.37 billion, 37.5 percent of the private total.

Twelve of the 38 have a machine with a buy record that is not marked “not for sale”: Unitree, 1X, AgiBot, RobotEra, Hugging Face, Agility, EngineAI, Fourier, Booster, LimX, UBTech and K-Scale. Figure 03, Apollo and the electric Atlas have buy entries marked not for sale. By the site’s stricter test, in stock or preorder as in the 44, 15 of the 38 have an orderable machine and 23 have none.

Split the money that way. $1.04 billion across nine disclosed rounds went to makers with a buy record: Unitree, 1X, Fourier, Agility, RobotEra and EngineAI. $5.29 billion across 26 rounds went to companies you cannot buy from. That is 84 percent.

Deployments are wider: 17 of the 38 have at least one entry in our 52 deployments, 21 have none. Of the ten largest raisers by total, six have none.

Units delivered: the field is empty

Our robots table has a field called units_deployed_est. It is null on all 182 machines. The deployments table is only a little better: 6 of 52 entries give a unit count, and they sum to 41 robots.

Twenty of the 41 are Walker S units in an order Dongfeng Liuzhou announced in February 2024, status pilot. Sixteen are Unitree H1s that danced at the CCTV gala on 28 January 2025, for one night. Two are the first production Digits Ford took in 2020, since retired. The last three are an Optimus at the Tesla Diner, Phoenix doing a week at Mark’s under teleoperation, and Robonaut 2.

Set that against the money. The five largest raisers, Figure, Physical Intelligence, Agility, Field AI and Apptronik, took $4.2 billion, two thirds of the private total. Their counted units in this record: two, Ford’s Digits. UBTech and Unitree own 36 of the 41 counted units and have $270 million of disclosed money between them, UBTech’s $130 million listing and Unitree’s $140 million Series B.

Figure is the sharpest case. $1.754 billion raised, three deployments, no unit count in any of them. Figure 02 loaded sheet metal at BMW Spartanburg from August 2024 to November 2025, autonomous according to Figure, fleet size not published. A logistics pilot has no named customer; the home alpha does not say how many homes. Figure 03 is not for sale, and BotQ is designed for 12,000 units a year. Apollo has three pilots, at Mercedes-Benz, GXO and Jabil, none with a number, and its teleoperation field says partial.

What to read in a maker’s funding record

A round is a bet by people who expect a return, and this record shows the bets bunching around the same names. Read it for five things. Whether there is an amount, or only a valuation; five entries here have the second without the first. Who led, and whether they have led before: Parkway has led Figure three times, Thrive and Lux have backed Physical Intelligence three times, and CapitalG, Samsung or CATL leading is a strategic buyer choosing a supplier. Whether the recipient builds bodies at all; $2.37 billion here went to model companies, and a model does not arrive on a pallet. Whether the maker has a buy record and a deployment with a unit number. And for Chinese makers, whether anything is disclosed; if not, count named customers, as UBTech’s list of BYD, Foxconn, Zeekr and Dongfeng lets you do.

If you are choosing a maker for a pilot, weight a $100 million round less than one named customer with a published fleet size. This record has six deployments with a count. The five biggest raisers own one of them, and it is two robots from 2020 that have since been retired.

In this article

The machines

All on sale
Figure AI · United States

Figure 02

In pilots

Figure 02, unveiled on 6 August 2024, added onboard speech, six cameras, 16 DoF hands and three times the compute of Figure 01. It became the first Figure robot to work in a customer plant, at BMW Spartanburg, and the platform for the Helix vision-language-action model. Figure retired it in favour of Figure 03 in late 2025.

Height168 cm
Weight70 kg
Pricen/a
Figure AI · United States

Figure 03

Limited production

Figure 03 is Figure AI's third-generation humanoid, unveiled on 9 October 2025 and designed for the home and for volume manufacturing at Figure's BotQ facility. It has soft textile coverings, wireless charging, palm cameras and tactile fingertips, and runs the Helix model onboard. It is the company's first robot designed for mass production rather than hand assembly.

Height168 cm
Weight60 kg
Pricenot for sale
Apptronik · United States

Apollo

In pilots

Apollo is Apptronik's general-purpose humanoid, revealed on 23 August 2023, with a 25 kg payload and four-hour swappable batteries. It is piloted by Mercedes-Benz, GXO and Jabil, and Google DeepMind has partnered with Apptronik on its AI. Apptronik's team previously worked on NASA's Valkyrie.

Height173 cm
Weight73 kg
Pricenot for sale
Agility Robotics · United States

Digit (v1 to v3)

Retired

Digit added a torso, arms and perception to the Cassie legs and was first shown in February 2019. Ford bought the first two units in 2020 for last-mile delivery research, and v2 and v3 added better perception and hands-free manipulation of totes. These versions were superseded by the 2023 Digit.

Heightn/a
Weightn/a
Price$250K
Agility Robotics · United States

Digit

Commercial

The 2023 Digit added a head, improved hands and a taller frame, and is the version Agility Robotics sells as a service for moving totes in warehouses. It was the first humanoid with a paid, multi-year commercial deployment (GXO, 2024) and is built at Agility's RoboFab factory. Schaeffler invested in Agility in 2024 and planned to deploy Digit in its plants.

Height175 cm
Weight65 kg
Pricen/a
1X Technologies · United States

NEO

Limited production

NEO is 1X's consumer home humanoid, opened for preorder on 28 October 2025 at USD 20,000 with deliveries planned for 2026. It is about 30 kg, tendon-driven and wears a soft suit, and it uses remote human operators for tasks it cannot yet do autonomously. It is the first humanoid marketed directly to households at a published price.

Height165 cm
Weight30 kg
Price$20K
Unitree Robotics · China

Unitree G1

Commercial

G1 is Unitree's compact humanoid, announced in May 2024 at USD 16,000 and now listed at USD 13,500. Its low price and open SDK made it the default research and education humanoid worldwide. Read the configuration carefully: the standard machine does not support your own code, and the EDU version that does starts at USD 43,900.

Height132 cm
Weight35 kg
Price$14K
Unitree Robotics · China

Unitree H1

Commercial

H1 is Unitree's first full-size humanoid, revealed in August 2023. It set a walking speed of 3.3 m/s and performed the first standing backflip by a full-size electric humanoid in March 2024. Sixteen H1 units danced on the CCTV Spring Festival Gala in January 2025.

Height180 cm
Weight47 kg
Price$90K
UBTech Robotics · China

UBTech Walker S

In pilots

Walker S was the first industrial version of the Walker line, unveiled on UBTech's Hong Kong listing day in December 2023. It was the first Chinese humanoid to enter a car factory training program (NIO, February 2024).

Heightn/a
Weightn/a
Pricen/a
UBTech Robotics · China

UBTech Walker S2

Commercial

Walker S2 is UBTech's 2025 industrial humanoid and the first to swap its own battery, allowing round-the-clock operation. It has 52 degrees of freedom and is the product behind UBTech's large 2025 order announcements.

Height176 cm
Weight76 kg
Price$68K
Sanctuary AI · Canada

Phoenix

In pilots

Phoenix is Sanctuary AI's general-purpose humanoid, first shown as Gen 6 in May 2023 and iterated to Gen 7 in April 2024 and Gen 8 in 2025. Its distinguishing feature is fast, miniaturised hydraulic hands with tactile sensing. Sanctuary has a manufacturing and deployment partnership with Magna.

Height170 cm
Weight70 kg
Pricenot for sale
Galbot · China

Galbot G1

Commercial

Galbot G1 is a foldable wheeled humanoid with two arms that can reach both floor and 2.4 m shelves. It is the first humanoid to run retail stores commercially in China.

Heightn/a
Weightn/a
Pricen/a
Boston Dynamics · United States

Atlas (electric)

In pilots

The electric Atlas, revealed on 17 April 2024, replaced the hydraulic Atlas with a fully electric design whose joints rotate through 360 degrees. Boston Dynamics is developing it as a commercial factory robot with Hyundai Motor Group and using large behavior models from Toyota Research Institute and Google DeepMind. A production-intent version was unveiled at CES in January 2026.

Heightn/a
Weightn/a
Pricenot for sale

Sources

  1. 01
  2. 02
  3. 03
  4. 04
    Physical IntelligencePhysical Intelligence
  5. 05
  6. 06
    Skild AISkild AI
  7. 07
  8. 08
Next

Related reading

All articles